The British Grand Prix is undoubtedly, for most Brits, the biggest event on the Formula One Circuit. It is presently held at Silverstone, Northamptonshire, and is one of the oldest continuously staged F1 World Championship Grand Prix.

It’s fair to say that Britain is the home of motor racing. Almost all of the F1 teams are based in the UK. Motor racing is part of the sporting fabric.

On top of that, British fans are incredibly passionate, so the spectators can get pretty excited, especially when a British driver comes in first.

British Winners

In total, there have been 12 British drivers who have won the British Grand Prix. Sterling Moss took the chequered flag twice in 1955 and 1957. The following year Peter Collins won the race. Then the legendary Scotsman Jim Clark won it 4 times back to back (1962-1965) and won again in 1967.

Two years later, in 1969, Jackie Stewart lifted the trophy and did it again in 1971.

It took another six years until James Hunt won the Grand Prix. Followed by John Watson in 1981. Then came Nigel Mansell, who the British public loved, and he went on to win four times. Following Mansell’s success, Damon Hill, Jonny Herbert, and David Coulthard lifted the trophy, keeping the British fans happy.

Mr Play


Welcome Offer

BET £10 - GET £15

18+, Welcome Bonus: New Players only, 1st Deposit, Min Deposit: £10, max £15 bonus, valid for 14 days, bets must be placed at a min. odds of 1/1 (2.00) or greater and be settled within 14 days of placement. System bets no eligible. 18+ #ad. Please bet responsibly.

But nobody could predict what would come from a young man from Stevenage, England. Lewis Hamilton started his F1 career in 2007. It was just the following year, in 2008, that he won his first British Grand Prix. Since then, he has gone on to become the dominant force in motor racing.

Hamilton now holds the record for the British Grand Prix with an astonishing 6 wins. Amazingly each time he wins at Silverstone, he wins the Championship.

Hamilton has now equalled Michael Schumacher’s record of 7 World F1 Championships. On top of that, he holds an impressive list of records, and it is now widely accepted that Lewis Hamilton is pushing to become the greatest racing driver in history.

It’s clear to see that British drivers rise to the occasion on home soil, so betting on them at the British Grand Prix is not a bad idea. And it’s a good bet that Lewis Hamilton will lift the trophy again.

The Silverstone Track

Grand Prix racing was brought to Britain by Henry Segrave at the famous Brooklands circuit in 1926. Seagrave had previously won the 1923 French and San Sebastian Grand Prix, which created an interest in the sport in the UK. However, the first British Grand Prix was won by the French team of Louis Wagner and Robert Senechal, driving a Delage 155B.

In 1950 the race came to Silverstone, where it was the first race ever of the official World Championship.

It alternated with the Brands Hatch circuit between 1964 and 1986, and for a while between 1955/1962 it was even held at the Aintree racecourse. Silverstone was, until 1991, one of the fastest tracks on the F1 calendar. Drivers loved the sweeping and extremely demanding Copse, Stowe and Club corners.

In 2003 Silverstone’s owners, The British Racing Drivers Club and F1 authorities had a dispute which put the future of the race into doubt.

Despite mending the fences, the race was awarded to Donnington Park in 2008. However, that fell through, and now the race is guaranteed to Silverstone until 2027. Despite all this bickering, the British Grand Prix is still one of the most eagerly anticipated races in the F1 Calendar.




New 18+ UK customers only. Register using the promo code WELCOME40, deposit and place first bet of £10+ on Sports (cumulative Evens+) within 7 days of registration. First bet must be on Sports. £30 in Free Bets and £10 in Free Spins (50x20p) credited within 10 hours of bet settlement. Free Bet stakes are not included in any returns. Bonuses have a 7-day expiry. Payment restrictions apply. SMS verification and/or Proof of I.D and address may be required. Full T&Cs apply. #ad. Please bet responsibly.

Betting on the British Grand Prix

Formula 1 racing is an exhilarating sport that combines speed, skill, and precision. It’s a spectacle of raw power and endurance, which naturally makes it an exciting realm for sports betting. Here’s a look at some of the different types of bets you can place on this high-octane event.

1. Race Winner Bet

Perhaps the most straightforward type of bet, the race winner bet, simply involves predicting which driver will cross the finish line first. It’s a popular bet due to its simplicity, but remember, in a sport as unpredictable as F1, nothing is ever certain.

2. Podium Finish Bet

A podium finish bet is when you place a wager on a driver to finish in the top three. This is a safer bet than a race-winner bet as it gives a bit more leeway, but the odds will generally be lower as a result.

3. Fastest Lap Bet

Each driver’s aim is not only to finish first but also to clock the fastest lap. This bet type involves predicting who will achieve this feat. It is a challenging bet as any driver, even those not in podium contention, can pull off a blisteringly fast lap.

4. Pole Position Bet

The pole position is the prime starting spot awarded to the fastest qualifier. A pole position bet is placed on the driver you think will secure this spot during qualifying. This bet requires knowledge of the drivers’ and the teams’ qualifying performances.

5. Points Finish Bet

In F1, the top 10 finishers receive points (from 25 for the winner down to 1 for 10th place). A points finish bet involves betting on a driver to finish in the top 10. This type of bet can be a great way to back an underdog, who might not win but has a good chance of finishing in the points.

6. Safety Car Bet

The safety car is brought out during the race under certain conditions, such as an accident or extreme weather. Some bookmakers offer bets on whether a safety car will appear during a race. As this is highly dependent on unpredictable factors, it can be seen as a more risky but potentially rewarding bet.

7. Head-to-Head Bet

In a head-to-head bet, two drivers are pitted against each other by the bookmaker, and your task is to decide which of them will finish higher. The overall race results don’t matter here; it’s all about which of these two drivers performs better.

8. Constructor/Team Bet

F1 is a team sport, with each team having two drivers. A constructor bet involves betting on which team will score the most points in a particular race. This type of bet requires a solid understanding of individual driver performance and overall team strategy.

Remember, no matter what type of bet you choose to place, it’s crucial to do your research. Look at factors such as driver form, team performance, track characteristics, weather conditions, and more. With the right knowledge and a bit of luck, betting on the British Grand Prix can add an extra layer of excitement to this legendary racing event.

The British Grand Prix Driver Odds 2023

Now, I’d be willing to say that the British Grand Prix has more bets placed on it than any other motor racing event in the UK. So this event is pretty special for the bookmakers just as much as it is for the fans.

Anything can happen in formula one and often does, so it will always be hard to pick the person who takes the chequered flag. But one thing is for sure if there is a British driver in a good car, then that is always a good choice.

The 2023 British Grand Prix, which takes place over 52 laps of the 5.891-kilometre Silverstone Circuit on Sunday, July 9. When we have a full list of the drivers and odds, we will update this page.

Related Posts