The Indian Premier League (IPL) is a professional Twenty20 cricket league. It was founded in 2008 by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) and is one of the most popular and lucrative cricket leagues in the world. The league consists of ten teams representing different cities across India.

The IPL operates on a franchise system, similar to that of the National Basketball Association (NBA) in the United States. The teams bid for players at an auction, and players are then signed to contracts for a fixed period of time. The Indian Premier League (IPL) allows a franchise team to play with up to 4 foreign players in their squad. This means that the team can have less than 4 foreign players, but they cannot exceed this number.

How Does IPL Work?

Ten teams were created for the new IPL format in 2022. They will play 74 matches in total. The ten teams are split into two groups of five. Each team will play 14 games in the group stage: they will face the other four teams in their group twice, each time at home and away. They will also face four teams from the other group once and one team from the other group twice.

The IPL is known for its glitz, glamour, and entertainment. The league attracts some of the best cricketing talents from around the world and has a large following, both in India and abroad.

When Does The IPL Start?

The IPL usually runs from March to May. The 2023 Indian Premier League (IPL) season will start on 31st March 2023 and end on 28th May 2023.

This will be the 16th season of the IPL tournament, with 10 teams competing for the title. The current IPL title-holder franchise is Gujarat Titans, winning the 2022 season against rivals Rajasthan Royals by seven wickets.

What Teams Are In The Indian Premier League?

The current teams playing in the IPL are:

  • Chennai Super Kings
  • Delhi Capitals
  • Gujarat Titans
  • Kolkata Knight Riders
  • Lucknow Super Giants
  • Mumbai Indians
  • Punjab Kings
  • Kings XI Punjab
  • Rajasthan Royals
  • Royal Challengers Bangalore
  • Sunrisers Hyderabad

Where To Watch IPL?

In June 2022, the broadcasting rights for the league from 2023 to 2027 were sold at a remarkable US$6.1 billion, cementing IPL’s spot as the second most expensive tournament in the world after NFL and above English Premier League.

The IPL can be watched live on television and online through streaming services. UK viewers will be able to watch all the IPL 2023 matches exclusively live on Sky Sports Cricket and Sky Sports Main Event.

In the United States, the IPL is also streamed on ESPN+, Sky Sports, and Viacom18 bagged the rights for the UK, Australia-NZ and South Africa while Times Internet grabbed the rights for the Middle East & North Africa.

Betting On The IPL

Betting is a huge business surrounding IPL, as it has been with Cricket for many years. Many sportsbooks around the world offer IPL betting markets where users can bet on match outcomes. Visit 10CRIC for the best IPL betting experience.

You can bet on individual games and who will win the IPL overall. There are also options to bet on the top batsman and bowler markets, along with many other IPL betting markets available.

What Are IPL Awards?

At the end of each IPL season, awards are given out to recognize individual performances and team performances over the course of the tournament. The IPL awards are as follows:

IPL Purple Cap

The IPL Purple Cap, currently known as the Aramco Purple Cap for sponsorship reasons, is presented to the leading wicket-taker in IPL. In 2008, the IPL introduced two special caps. The Orange Cap was for the batsman with the most runs, and the Purple Cap was for the bowler with the most wickets. Whoever has those stats will wear those caps while they are playing.

IPL Orange Cap

The Orange Cap, currently known as the Aramco Orange Cap for sponsorship reasons, is presented to the leading run scorer in the Indian Premier League (IPL).

IPL Most Valuable Player Award

This award recognizes the player who made the most valuable impact on the IPL tournament based on the following points system: 4 hits are worth 2.5 points. 6 hits and wickets taken are worth 3.5 points each. Every dot ball bowled gets 1 point. Catches and stumpings get 2.5 points each. This award is called Upstox Most Valuable Player because of sponsorship.

IPL Fair Play Award

This award recognizes the team that exhibits the highest level of fair play throughout the season. After each match, the three umpires rate both teams on how they played. Each team can get up to 10 points. 4 points are based on how well they followed the “spirit of the game”.


Cryptocurrency (₿) Sports Betting

100% Cashback Bonus

This offer is only available to new players who made their FIRST deposit. All players must be 18+ years old and of legal age to gamble. 100% Cashback bonus is available ONCE for each player. The minimum deposit required to get the bonus is 20 USDT or equivalent in another cryptocurrency. Maximum cashback amount is equal to your first deposit amount. Maximum Cashback bonus amount is 1 BTC or equivalent in another cryptocurrency 18+. Bet The Responsible Way. Full Terms apply. 18+ #ad. Please bet responsibly.

IPL Best Emerging Player Award

The Emerging Player of the Year award has been given out since 2014. To be eligible for this award, you must have played less than 5 Tests, 20 One Day Internationals (ODI), and 25 IPL matches at the start of the season. You can only win this award once.

Maximum Sixes Award

The Maximum Sixes Award is given to the player who hits the most sixes in a season of the IPL. It is now called the Unacademy Let’s Crack It Sixes Award.

The IPL is the second most valuable tournament in the world after NFL, and its popularity continues to grow each year. IPL continues to provide an exciting and entertaining experience for cricket fans around the world.