The Spanish Grand Prix

The Spanish Grand Prix

The Spanish Grand Prix is one of the oldest contested races on the Formula 1 circuit. The first race was held in 1913 and took place on the Guadarrama road circuit near Madrid. The race has moved circuits several times over the years until the current circuit at Catalunya.

It’s fair to say that in recent years, the man to beat on the track has been Lewis Hamilton. He has taken the chequered flag in four of the last six Spanish Grand Prix, including the 2019 race, and finished over four minutes ahead of Mercedes teammate Bottas.

One thing is for sure, Hamilton is at the very top of his career and has one of the best cars on the grid. Plus with his eyes set on equaling Michael Schumacher’s record of seven World Championships, it’s a safe bet that he will be crossing the line in the first position again this year.

This year’s Spanish Grand Prix is scheduled for Sunday the 16th of August and will be the sixth race of the 2020 season. Since 1991, the Grand Prix has taken place at the Circuit de Catalunya.

Located north of Barcelona in scenic Montmeló, the track is used heavily for testing. As such, it has a reputation for its lack of on-track overtaking. In 2007, a chicane was added at turns 14 and 15 in hopes of increasing overtaking opportunities. Weather conditions, specifically the ever-changing wind direction, play a heavy role in race strategies.

History of The Spanish Grand Prix

Catalunya has been the scene of many memorable events in Formula One history. The first Grand Prix held at Catalunya saw the Williams of Nigel Mansell and the McLaren of Ayrton Senna racing wheel to wheel down the front straight. Mansell took Senna at the first corner and went on to win the race.

Seven-time world champion Michael Schumacher saw his first win with Ferrari at the track in 1996. He would go on to win six runnings of the Grand Prix, the most of any other driver. Fernando Alonso won in 2006 and 2013, making him the only Spaniard to win his home Grand Prix since 1951.

Flying Lap of the Circuit de Barcelona

Ferrari has had a great history at this track, having won six times since Schumacher’s win in 1996. But it’s fair to say that Ferrari has struggled to find the glory years with Schumacher. In fact, it was the win by Alonso in 2013 that was the last time that Ferrari won at the Spanish Grand Prix. But you’d be a fool to write them off and their SF1000, 2020 car certainly looks ready to get them back on the podium.

It’s fair to say that all of the 2020 cars are untested in competition due to the season being moved. However, Mercedes has been so dominating in recent years. That it would be hard to believe that they won’t be a dominant force again this year.

One thing is for sure, when the first race of the season hits us on the 5th of July in Austria, the races will be coming thick and fast, to complete the season.

There are eight races confirmed so far, with some less than a week apart. More are to be confirmed, with the plan being completing 15 to 18 races before December. So let’s just say that if you are an F1 fan, you are going to be in for a real treat.

But who is going to come out on top in this frantic season of 2020?

Well, you guessed it, my money is on Lewis Hamilton to win the Championship and equal the record set by Schumacher. Who knows he may even get BBC Sports Personality of the year if he does. Plus, with many more racing years ahead, maybe he can go onto better the record and cement his place in the Formula 1 history books.

It’s fair to say, that all three of the above could be a good bet. So, make sure you keep up to date with the latest odds for the races coming up for the 2020 Formula 1 Calendar. Paddy Power will have all of the latest odds as the season returns.




New customers only. Place your FIRST bet on any Football market and if it loses we will refund your stake in CASH. Max refund for this offer is £20. Only deposits made using cards will qualify for this promotion. T&Cs apply. 18+ #ad. Please bet responsibly.